Dumnezeologie

A. Schweitzer on the paradox of the Gospel of Jesus

Vaisamar

schw

This week I had a very interesting conversation with professor H.K. about Barth and Schweitzer. I find the latter a very intriguing figure, one I cannot utterly comprehend. Schweitzer wrote a few masterful theological works, was a consummate musician, and famously worked as a missionary in Africa for a long time. For most of us, it’s hard enough to get a small measure of accomplishment in one field, let alone three! I am amazed that he could achieve so little during a period marked by two world wars, so much disease, dissolution of values and death.

I have read large chunks of his The Quest of the Historical Jesus and now I am browsing through his Out of My Life and Thought. Here is one excerpt which deserves special mention. Emphasis is mine.

The Gospel of Jesus that tells us to expect the end of the world turns us…

View original post 273 more words

Leave a Reply

