CaRtE

The Young C.S. Lewis

What seems like ages ago (last summer, I think) I bought ”Surprised by Joy” by C.S. Lewis –written in Romanian- which depicts the authors’ spiritual journey throughout his life. I started reading it, but at some point I had to lend it to someone else and so I hit the ‘pause’ button. The end of last year, however, I was given the same book in  English  and I must admit I wanted to read it in its original language. So I started off again. This time slower but more determined.  So I got to this paragraph, where Lewis mentions  his first “metaphysical argument he ever took part in”. Obviously, he is C.S Lewis! Didn’t expect anything different!

A miniature version of the Inklings, this time formed by a group of school boys stuck together in a  private boarding school, forced to become “very old acquaintances”. Here’s a spoiler for you :

We were sent out for walks alone on half holidays. We did not do much walking. We bought sweets in drowsy village shops and pottered about on the canal bank or sat at the brow of a railway cutting watching a tunnel-mouth for trains. Hertfordshire came to look less hostile.
[…] I can even remember from those days what must have been the first metaphysical argument I ever took part in. We debated whether the future was like a line you can’t see or a line that is not yet drawn.

Leave a Reply

