Posted in Journal Quotidien, My English Twaddling

mem’ries

A few years ago, while I was still in England, probably on a rainy day – I can’t remember well – I was walking around this old little village, called West Byfleet, about 8 miles away from the Greater London.
It’s got the most essentials that any village/ town needs: a post office, a drug store, Sainsbury’s large supermarket,a library, a bookstore, a charity shop, a restaurant, a bank, a school and the church.
It’s classic . And cosy. And in order to get there from where I lived, you had to go over the Wey Navigation Canal, where most of the times you’d see ducks swimming in or little squirrels running around.
But I walked into a charity shop one day and found this amazing white mug that I bought.
It’s not small but not very big either, not an immaculate white, but one closer to cream. The mug is very chunky and thick. I can even remember the first time I drank from that mug that I dropped some of its content all over me, because of its rounded lip[ I think it’s supposed to be called a ”diner mug”] . ^_^
But what I loved about this mug was the vintage print on it. The image of a happy looking man, savoring his steamy cuppa’ coffee and with black letters surrounding him, the tempting message: Try our coffee.It’s delicious.
Now I have it at work with me. And every time I look at it it, I feel like I’m transported somewhere in the 60’ies, in this little restaurant where the waitress has a big happy grin on her face all the time and the jukebox plays the country’s favorite band: The Beatles.
It’s probably because of my addiction to vintage that I hold this mug so dear.

Author:

Oh God, I don't love You, I don't even want to love You, but I want to want to love You! Theresa of Avila

Leave a Reply

